QR Codes, ClassWiz & Expanding Limited Technology

While in Japan (see my first post) the R&D folks at Casio were showing the new EDU+ app for smartphones that reads the QR codes from the ClassWiz calculator. My first reaction was “cool!”, my second reaction was “why?” since, as I thought at the time was why would you need a QR code to get to an online graphical representation of the data from the calculator when you could just use a graphing calculator?

But – a light bulb did go off as I played with both the calculator and the app and thought about schools I’d been to. I realized the whole purpose of the QR code is for those students and teachers who do not have graphing calculators, for whatever reason – i.e. grade level (they are in elementary and early middle school for example), cost prohibitive, or just not an option. The ClassWiz calculator, a scientific calculator, is new to the U.S. market this August, and is very cheap (about $27), easy to use, and can create & display graphical representations via QR codes, so an added feature that teachers and students can utilize. It’s a nice option for showing graphical representations quickly when other tools are not available.

Let me demonstrate how it works using the ClassWiz Emulator and some real-world data I got from the eeps Data Zoo (a fun place to get some interesting data to use with students). I thought the Roller Coaster Data below was interesting. I am going to do a very simple example, so I created a table to compare the largest drop to the length of the coaster.  I then chose the QR code button, which generated a QR code. Since I was in the emulator, I could just click the QR code and go directly to the visual representation on the internet. But, if I’d had my smartphone and the hand-held calculator, I could have used the app to scan the QR code and create the URL for the visual representation.

Look at the short video clip below to see how the process works:

You might be asking yourself why go to all this work if you are going to have to go on the internet anyway? Why not just use an internet graphing calculator? True enough – you could do this.  However, the reality is, most students in classrooms do not have access to computers and internet (only about 1/3 of schools have regular access to mobile devices such as laptops & tablets, for students)(see previous post). Students at the younger grades usually don’t have access to graphing calculators. The majority of the time, classrooms have the teachers computer with a projector set up, relying on whole-class demonstration. We want students hands-on, collecting their data and entering their data, which means students with the calculators.  And then, yes – have them plot their points and sketch their graphs. But – how great, if the teacher and students can quickly generate a QR code right on their calculator and the teacher can pop up a visual of the data right away and have a meaningful class discussion about the relationships students see, what might be the best type of fit for the data, should the graph go through zero and what’s the meaning of that (just to name a few questions)? Students can change the data, or compare different data, generate new QR codes and compare all these different graphs. The QR code functionality of the ClassWiz is just an example of how to expand the capabilities of the technology you have in your classroom. Another resource that allows students to explore and understand mathematics.

