G-Shock Your Casio Calculator Love

When I hear Casio, the first things I think of are calculators, G-Shock watches adownloadnd musical instruments. Obviously, since I am working on the educational side of Casio, I have been focused on the calculators, and really learning about how they work and researching ways they support mathematics education. I just recently obtained my own Baby G-Shock watch and am still exploring all the features of this (and fighting off my daughters’ attempt to “procure” my watch!)  I’ve yet to explore the musical instruments, but can tell you that my youngest daughter is campaigning for a Casio Synthesizer under the Christmas tree this year!

prizm-image-1a[1402677719000]In my own hands-on learning, I have expanded my appreciation of the Casio calculators. I’ve been have a great time making videos about how the calculators work and exploring the different features of each. As a former TI-calculator user, I am coming to understand the differences between the two and experience how much easier it is for me to work with the Casio and remember things. Granted, I am still learning and comparing, but like many teachers I have talked to and worked with, once you try Casio you want to stick with it over the TI. Which explains why Casio is trying to get new users and converts to show their new-found love for Casio calculators and reward them for doing so.

If you haven’t heard of the Casio Testimonial Contest, you definitely need to check it out. Simply by writing a review about one of Casio Calculators at ShopCasio.com (click a calculator and then click “write a review”), taking a screen shot of your review, and then posting it on Twitter (@casioprizm #CasioEduTestimonial #entry) you are entered into the 12-week giveaway for a Casio G-Shock watch. 12 winners possible, so that’s pretty easy stuff for a simple review.

And what’s so great about a G-Shock watch? Like I said, I myself just obtained a Baby G-Shock, so I am learning about it myself. There are a lot of cool things about the G-Shock that I have discovered in my research. With my mind always focused on how can I connect to mathematics, here are a few cool things about the G-Shock that would be of interest in the math class:

  1. The creator of the G-Shock watch (g stands for gravity), Kikuo Ibe, a Casio Engineer, based his design on a rubber ball he saw bouncing in a park, which would surround the outer layer of the watch. The watch was designed to withstand the “triple-ten ideal” –  able to withstand a ten-meter drop, be water resistance up to ten bars, and have ten years of battery life. (How deep is ten bars? What is the force on impact of a ten-meter drop?)download (1)
  2. The official promotion shots of the G-Shock watch always show 10:58 as the time because it takes up the most watch ‘ screen real-estate’ (so how much is that?!)
  3. They are the unofficial watch of the Navy SEALS.  (Cool!)(Why? Cost? Durability?)
  4. The G-Shock Premium has Wave Ceptor Radio-Controlled Technology which means it receives regular signals from atomic clocks all over the world so it will only be out by one second every three million years.

There are more obviously – (you can click the links provided to get more information). For me, I am still just trying to figure out what all the buttons on my Baby G do, but that’s half the fun, isn’t it? Figuring out what calculators and watches can do to support what you need. We’d love to hear how you are using your calculators to meet your learning needs and maybe that will G-Shock you! Contest runs until January 30, so Review. Submit. Win!

