A Partridge In a Pear-Tree – How Many Presents?

As it is the holiday season and most people are out of school and busy getting ready for family celebrations, shopping, and whatever other holiday customs might be of importance to you, I thought it might be fun to look at the math behind a popular Christmas song that I know all of you have been hearing (since Thanksgiving) whenever you walk into any store.

I realize that many of you may not celebrate Christmas –  I myself celebrate both Christmas and Hanukkah, so my family has several different traditions. I realize there are many of you out there with your own traditions and customs during this winter break (i.e. Christmas, Hanukkah, Kwanzaa, to name a few). That’s the beauty of this country – you can celebrate and enjoy your own traditions. My focus is as always on math and/or technology, and I happened to find this interesting YouTube video that incorporates Pascal’s Triangle into a very popular Christmas song – The 12 Days of Christmas. Even if you don’t celebrate Christmas, you know you have heard this song (I believe I have been stuck on the elevator more than a couple times with this song being piped through)! Hopefully you will enjoy the math aspect of this and next time you hear the song in the stores you can share the math calculations with fellow shoppers.

How many presents is that? Pascals Triangle can help!

We at Casio wish all of you Happy Holidays whatever you may be doing or celebrating!

 

